When it comes to marshmallows, figuring out whether they’re vegan or not really comes down to their ingredient list. Here’s what you should know about marshmallows before you go ahead and open another bag.
So, are marshmallows vegan?
Unfortunately, they’re not. “Marshmallows are not vegan because they contain gelatin, an animal protein derived from the ligaments, tendons, and skin of animals, such as cows and pigs,” explains registered dietician Grace Pascale. Gelatin doesn’t taste like meat at all, since it’s created by boiling down the various animal body parts with water, but it’s used in marshmallows in order to create that gooey, glutinous center that melts in your mouth.
“Gelatin and related products are also commonly found in puddings, ice cream, candy, certain yogurts, and even things like shampoo and cosmetics, in order to add that texture,” adds Pascale.
If you want a vegan option, you have to stay away from items that contain this ingredient. But don’t stress. There are several vegan substitutes that use other ingredients to create that same yummy texture.
Some amazing, RD-approved vegan options to try:
1. Dandies Vegan Marshmallows
Dandies Vegan Marshmallows Dandies amazon.com $32.00 SHOP NOW
Super gooey and perfect to place into an oat milk hot chocolate, Dandies Vegan Marshmallows were created when its founder, whose son has been vegan for years, couldn’t find any vegan marshmallows at the store. Talk about a father-son bond.
2. Trader Joe’s Vegan Marshmallows
Trader Joe’s Vegan, Gluten Free Marshmallows Trader Joe’s amazon.com $22.98 SHOP NOW
You can always rely on good ol’ TJs: These gluten-free, vegan marshmallows are clutch for baking.
3. Goodland Farms Large Vegan Marshmallows
Goodland Farms Large Vegan Marshmallows Goodland Farms amazon.com $14.99 SHOP NOW
For a fresh, cruelty-free s’more, these extra-large vegan marshmallows toast up so good that you’ll forget non-vegan options even exist.
What do you think about this article? Let us know your comment.